The Policy Committee of the Illinois Food Scrap Coalition analyses and proposes policy that supports food scrap composting and food recovery efforts.

Illinois State Rep. Carol Sente and IFSC board member Walter Willis, SWALCO Executive Director

The committee is working to make sure that food scrap composting is allowed and appropriately regulated, businesses' opportunities for food scrap composting are encouraged, and residential dwellers and commercial businesses have access to affordable composting pick up or drop off opportunities. The committee has in the past couple of years expanded its scope and goals to include analyzing and proposing legislation that enhances efforts to recover wasted food for human consumption.

Conference call meetings are scheduled on an as-needed basis. To join the committee, contact jwalling (at) ilenviro (dot) org.

Food Scrap Composting Laws in Illinois

Current Activities

  • Monitoring the IEPA’s budget request for FY 2020 in anticipation it will include a new grant program for food scrap related projects. If not requested in IEPA’s budget the committee will work with IEPA and the General Assembly to enact an appropriation bill that does include grant funding for food scrap projects.
  • Participating with the Wasted Food Solutions Task Force and its policy committee to continue to explore the need for legislation to assist with food recovery and/or food scrap composting.
  • Monitoring legislation that is introduced to determine if it impacts food recovery or food scrap composting and making such legislation available to the IFSC and its members.
  • Assessing the future need for legislation related to landscape waste transfer stations and diversion of food scraps from landfilling.

Committee Members

  • Mary Margaret Cowhey, Land and Lakes, NSWMA
  • Marta Keane, Will County
  • Wes King, Illinois Stewardship Alliance
  • John Lardner, JPL Environmental Engineering
  • Christopher Lipman, Cook County
  • Kay McKeen, SCARCE
  • Jim McNelly
  • Dean Olson, Will County, SWANA
  • Derek Rompot, IEPA
  • David  Smith, DCEO
  • David Van Vooren, SWANCC
  • Jennifer Walling, Illinois Environmental Council
  • Walter Willis, SWALCO, SWANA

Bold denotes the chairman of the committee. 

Find IFSC Online